I Have COVID Right Now. Here’s the Stuff No One Talks About.

Leave it to me to make it weird.

Jill Francis
7 min readJul 6, 2022
Shot of someone’s feet only. They are lying prone on a bed and their feet are sticking out of the covers.
Photo by Pixabay

I first tested positive on Saturday, July 2, and this (July 6) is the first day that I am moderately able to put a sentence together. Before today, the only slightly intellectual activity I could manage was playing UNO with my husband while we traded cough medicine and ibuprofen. Even at that, I couldn’t add up all the points correctly without a calculator, so I guess you can see where this is going. Don’t expect much, kids.

This is my first time getting COVID and I am absolutely blown away by the experience. Yeah, yeah, the fevers, body aches, and fatigue, but what I am really talking about is all of the other stuff that comes along with getting this stupid virus. A lot of it is odd, so I did what anyone else would do, which is Google things that shouldn’t be Googled. But, I didn’t find that anyone was talking about this stuff anywhere. It can’t just be me, so I thought I would share my experiences for anyone else out there who feels like their neurons have been so scrambled since they got sick, it seems like there’s a side of bacon coming.

First, let’s go through the basics. Hubs and I are both vaxxed and boosted. My last booster was in March and his was in January. My husband got infected when he played tennis outside with a guy that…

--

--

Jill Francis

American immigrant in Italy with too many degrees in Psychology. I write about everything I’m afraid of. jillfranciswrites@gmail.com